To cheat or not to cheat? That is the question

I’ve been trying to decide how to write a post about cheat days or cheat meals since it’s an interesting topic to write about. I’m no expert or guru.  But I’ve learned what works and what doesn’t. Some people may not agree with me on this and that’s fine.  Here is an article on Fit sugar (aka Pop Sugar) that talks about it 

Yes I have cheat days I save it for the weekends.  But mind you I don’t go overboard I still make smart choices in what I eat. When I first started to get healthy I gave up everything cold turkey. Not smart. It left me very cranky irritable one of my friends noticed it. They called me out on it. In fact the next day or so they offered me a steak sandwich on *gasp* white bread.  Usually if I eat a sandwich I’d cut it down to one slice of bread cut into triangles. Anyways I’m not a rude person and I didn’t want to hurt their feelings. So I had the sandwich. I know, I could have thrown it away when I got home (I was at work), but I was hungry and I still had my fruit I brought as well.  The sandwhich was good (protein!) and my friend said later “You can still eat what you want just in moderation”.

That made me think. Because I tossed out all my junk foods even my Oreos (I love Oreos). I have a major sweet tooth. One of the hardest things is skipping desserts. But one thing about myself is I ate my emotions hence why I piled on the weight, plus I inhaled the food and I’d go back for seconds. I was straight up terrified to eat anything “bad” even going out to eat was a nightmare.

Here’s the but…..

 

What I learned is was to keep track of your food. I thought it was nuts but I started using My Fitness Pal to log my food and it helps (more on that later). Plus I became a label reader, I used severing sizes to my advantage. I learned I could eat Oreos but I limit myself to two and I used to down four. For the most part they sit untouched in cupboard (out of site out of mind) I like a cheeseburger every now and again so I have the cheeseburger and I don’t feel guilty about it because usually I’ve worked out before or I will the next day. If I do have a big meal like that, I will have a light snack after. 

I love pizza too so I still have my usual two slices and no breadsticks (again tough to quit). I still eat at Buffets but I stick to salads, and fruit.  But mind you I don’t do this all the time. Like I said I choose when treat myself.  I don’t use treats as a reward for loosing weight or anything like that. 

Am I perfect? Nope. I’ve overdid it before but you know what? It happens we’re human. Just forgive yourself and start over. Beating yourself up doesn’t make the situation any better.  I did once have a major sugar crash once where there was nothing but sodas, cakes, and chips of course I indulged then after I felt awful.  It taught me a very valuable lesson. 

Just remember do what feels right. If you don’t want to do a cheat meal or day that’s fine. Some people said they don’t trust themselves when I posted the article in a Facebook group I belong to which I totally get it’s all about what works for you and what doesn’t.

Have a great week!

 

~M

Leave a Reply

