Pumpkin ice cream

Fall is upon us so that means: Pumpkin everything!! The inter-webs are chalk full of pumpkin recipes so today I am sharing a recipe I found on Facebook. Pumpkin Ice Cream.

Yes. Pumpkin ice cream. The best part? It’s diary free!! So it’s uber healthy.

Ingredients:

4 bananas

1 cup of pumpkin puree (I used Libby’s organic)

1/3 cup of maple syrup (I used light maple syrup)

1 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice

The instructions are simple you blend everything together but for the sake of this blog and for me since I don’t have a fancy Nurta Bullet but a regular old blender I broke everything down for you!

First I cut up all the bananas then placed them in the blender:

banana

Next, I blended them all together first that way it was easier on the blender here’s my lovely banana mush:

mush

Now add your pumpkin puree I choose organic just to be extra healthier it doesn’t matter whatever your preference is! 🙂

pumpkin

I did blend the pumpkin and bananas together here’s a picture of it blended then me adding the syrup:

blend

Last add the pumpkin spice:

spice

Then blend it all together one more time at the highest setting.

Now place it in a container:

mix

From the looks of it doesn’t look like much serving wise but for me it’s perfect. So I suppose you can double the recipe or just make another batch if you’re wanting more. Of course after this stick it in your freezer to freeze.

Now after I made it a week ago I totally forgot about it oops. You can’t write a blog post about a recipe without trying it. So yesterday I took it out of the freezer:

frozen

I had to thaw it out for about a minute to get a bit softer to work with. The reason I made the ice cream was for smoothies because I’ve been to trying to find the perfect pumpkin smoothie recipe. So again I got my blender, adding about 2 scoops of the ice cream, then some milk now I used what I had which is your average low fat milk. I’m sure you can use almond milk or skim if that’s your preference. Again it’s all about trail and error. I did a little bit more pumpkin spice before I blended everything.

I poured the mix into a glass topped with a little bit of whipped cream and enjoyed!

smoothieThe verdict?? Not bad. I think I need to add more ice cream next time or maybe just more the pumpkin puree with it, perhaps some crushed graham cracker? The possibilities are endless!

Until next time!

~M

Leave a Reply

