College Life!

I will be starting posts about my college life.

Yes. I am a college student again. It’s been 11 years since I’ve been in school.

I have been kicking around the idea for years since I last graduated. At the time I thought about going for my BA in the field I originally studied for (Graphic Design) well, I was young and naive so it didn’t happen. I was close to going to school for another totally different field but the process was hard as HECK. I threw in the towel right away. Then I sat thinking about my goals or resolutions I made in the New Year. One of them was to go back to school. But I was unmotivated to go forward with my other choice which was to become an Early Childhood Development Teacher.

Then, I looked into personal training. I had thought about for a while but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to pursue it until more people said I should become one. The rest was history. I attend Herzing University which is formally Omaha School of Massage Therapy or if you want to get technical the official name is Omaha School of Massage and Healthcare of Herzing University.

The PT program is a year old, so there have been changes made to the curriculum. I attend classes 4 days a week. Two classes one is The Essentials of Personal Training I have that class on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The other is Essentials of Human Movement or good old Kinesiology which is you guessed it Monday and Wednesdays. So I work until 7am hurry home to get ready for class and leave home by 8am (I live 45 minutes away from Omaha) to be in class by 9am! Crazy I know.

The tough part is going to back to school after a 11-year hiatus as I mentioned above. I am the oldest in my class (32 I know it’s not OLD but trust me I feel it!) and adjusting to my schedule. I’m used to getting off work, going to Jazzercise at 8:30am then I come home, eat something, shower or other errands then depending on the day I’m in bed by noon at the latest. So now, everything is later my eating and sleep schedule. Plus I won’t be Jazzercisng regularly either only on my nights off. The cool part of the program we get a free gym membership which is near campus (I will be writing about my experience with a personal trainer of my own soon!).

Also, I will be working out as part of my class of Tuesday and Thursday for other PT students to get their experience too.

I should be finished with degree in two years. It’s very exciting and scary at the same time.

Stay tuned for college life posts!

~M

Leave a Reply

