Is fasting safe?

*Note this post is completely 100% my opinion please do your research before attempting to fast and make sure you have your doctors okay to do so!*

I follow a few people’s weight loss journey’s on Facebook. To protect their identity, I won’t say who this person is but they had just made a post that they were on vacation and enjoying themselves not to mention enjoying vacation foods that went along with it, plus alcohol. Which I say you’re on vacation enjoy yourself! I’m one of the biggest rebels there are in the fit world because I still enjoy carbs, and sweets once in awhile however I still try for some healthy options more on that later.

The person had started to do a keto diet (I used bodybuilding.com) which means they are cutting out carbs *insert sigh* to help aid in weight loss. It’s a lot like Adkins but they eat more protein. I like carbs just like any other person however I use them in (my favorite word!) moderation.  I don’t eat them everyday More on that later too.

Anyways back to this person when they got home they weighed in and gained about 4 pounds. Which of course is bound to happen I admire them for not being too upset about it. They’re plan of attack was to FAST. I immediately thought WHAT THE FRENCH TOAST?? Okay not my exact words but you know.  They said they planned to fast for 24 hours and just drink water.

Before I give my opinion on the matter, to answer the basic questions:

Is fasting safe? The first answer when I googled this was in a box: NO it is not safe by any means. Especially people who are diabetic, women who are pregnant/breast feeding, anyone with a chronic disease, and the elderly.

I 100% agree with this logic. I know fasting is sometimes necessary for a blood draw for certain tests then a “suggested” fast is for 12 hours in which you are allowed water and to take any medications.

As I did more research, it’s not good to do fasting. Which I found here

One thing I learned on this weight loss journey is to NOT STARVE yourself. I can’t tell you how many times I was accused of that during my own weight loss journey. It was downright insulting and I was angry at people for thinking so.  For some people, you can become dizzy if you don’t eat. When I fainted both times that was the first question I was asked “Did you eat?” Especially before my workout I put something in my stomach. Because you can become dizzy. It’s the same as hydration.

This person did mention when they ate carbs on vacation they felt lousy. Which I can relate to because I once had nothing but junk and soda at a party I wound up feeling lousy. Because your body becomes used to the fuel you are feeding it so if you give up certain foods, then if you suddenly eat them after not eating them you can feel off.

In case you’re wondering,  I did not comment on the person’s post because it’s not my place to. Yes, I could have been the voice the reason however, it’s their decision. I may not agree with it but I don’t want to hurt their feelings either. #beentheredonethat

However, if you consider a fast please do your homework first! This is from prevention.com  I don’t recommend doing it because it’s not for me.

Remember be safe as always!

~Mags

Leave a Reply

