Trek up the Tower

Hello! I am back to recap Trek up the tower! This is my first official run of 2016.

Having not done any real prep prior to this (I did a bit lifting mid December) I have been more focused on Jazzercise challenge as of late (25 classes in 30 days).  I was a bit worried that it may effect my performance but I tried not to let it get to me. I had been feeling off all week as well so I only made it to Jazzercise 3 times this week. (More on that later).

Anyways First National Bank Tower is the tallest building in the Omaha area. With 4o floors=870 steps. I had read some info about it and studied a You Tube video to give me an idea of what I was in for.

I had a good high carb breakfast:

food
Ego chocolate waffle sans syrup, banana and of course bacon with milk 390 calories altogether.

 

My intention was to just do my best and not worry weather or not I got a good time or not.  When I started, I was got pretty winded early around the tenth floor. I took breathers in between some of the floors I was grateful for the water stops and chairs along the way. Since the event was indoors it was very dry in the building. I felt the effects on the way home and stopped for more water. I listened to my body and I took enough time to recover when the breaks provided. Before I knew it I made it:

medal

Here is a break down of my results:

Time: 24:20

Overall place 1650 out of 1730

Place in Gender: 1650 of 1730

Place in Age Division: 142 of 151

I think my best time is around 22 minutes. But given that this was my first time doing the event, I am happy with that. Given the fact that I used to get winded climbing three flights of stairs to my apartment! I say that’s amazing progress! I am not 100% sure I will do this again next year, since it was pretty tough. I will see when that times comes.

Onto the next!!

 

Leave a Reply

