Menu/meal planning

I thought what would help me maybe to make better decisions in my eating habits is to menu/meal plan. I have never really done it before so I thought as they say “Give it the old college try” and it’s fitting since I am a college student!

As I’ve mentioned before, I go with the flow on my meals mainly because:

  1. I work overnights
  2. I go to school part time
  3. My schedule is way different
  4. I grocery shop every two weeks
  5. Whatever I have on hand is what I prepare
  6. Plus it’s just me, myself and I

So why plan? For starters it will help me eat out less, not eat junk, stop relying on processed food as much and maybe help drop the weight I gained. Also to try new recipes too. Plus also to use leftovers more too so I don’t waste food.

I typically eat your three meals a day plus I suppose an extra since I work overnights where most would consider that lunch? I’m not sure but working 8 hours does make you hungry and you have to fuel your body.

I do eat breakfast depending on the day if I have class I will eat a bigger breakfast to help curb my appetite until I get home, I also take a small snack if need be, I have lunch then I sleep and then in the evening, on those days I will have a light meal mainly because I sleep later those days and I want something quick and easy to eat. Then I take something that I prep ahead. On non school days, if I go workout I eat a lighter breakfast, followed by lunch, sleep and then a filling supper.

Well, I had a great menu all planned out and I didn’t follow it. Basically it feel through after a week!! #EpicFail.

The original plan was to cook Sunday supper then meal prep for the week…. I ended up falling asleep at 4pm and I got once had a snack then went back to bed and I got up later in the morning. I did throw stuff in the crock pot for the week on Monday plus I did put together tuna salad as well, but it wasn’t I had planned originally and I tried to alter my menu as I went along but I gave up too quickly I might add. Although, I may start over and try it again for next week. It is definitely trial and error!

I’ll be back with another update I’m sure!

~Mags

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

