An update!

Hello! Sorry I haven’t written in awhile but there hasn’t been a lot to say. I have had a really tough time with things. I just finished a really rough semester (seems to be the trend!) of school. It gave me a lot of emotions to deal with especially with being so foreign with the gym.

I was told numerous times that I don’t feel comfortable being in a gym setting which I felt was a personal insult to me! I have been a member of the YMCA since 2008 and even though I haven’t gone as much as I’ve liked lately, I agree and disagree with that. The gym my school uses is Prairie Life Fitness in Omaha which is just a few blocks from Campus. But for me it’s a good 45 minutes away, why would I drive 45 minutes to go workout when I have a gym not even 2 minutes away from me? Heck there’s even one across the street! I can understand being uncomfortable with PLF because I don’t go there enough to feel comfortable there I’ve only gone with class when it’s required. The Y I feel comfortable enough there because I do know most of the equipment and I’ve been a member for so long. The other uncomfortable part for me is knowing workouts. I spent last semester programing workouts for “clients” (the new students) and I had to DIG deep to find workouts that can be done in many, many different ways. But a lot of workouts I don’t know well enough because I don’t do them or know how to do them properly. That’s a stumbling block for me. I know it. I need to overcome it!

But I have been so tired, stressed, sick, and a little depressed that my workouts have taken a complete back seat. I haven’t Jazzercised in 2 months! I am on the fence about ending my membership for the time being and just solely focusing on the Y again and reacquainted with workouts and variations of them.  It’s tough because I ❤ Jazzercise so much it was there when I needed a change and I enjoyed my time there. In order to be a good trainer I need to have that knowledge of the gym which I admit I do lack a little. I have been an observer in the gym for quite sometime and I’ve learned by watching others. So I have to be well rounded when it comes to workouts and how to manipulate them.

My newest class is conditioning which is what athletes do.  Unfortunately I have zero experience in that field because I never was one so it might be a weak point to me. I am going to try my darnedest to succeed at this even if it is foreign to me.

In other news, my weight hasn’t changed for 3 months, my HS reunion came and went, I felt really good about myself then. Which again for me is something hard to come by. I still struggle a lot with confidence especially in the gym too. Menu planning didn’t go well past the third week. I learned it’s not for me and that’s okay. I gave it the old college try and I will keep doing what I have been. I do need to get back on prep which went wayside after vacation.

What else? Oh Trek up the Tower registration has opened so once payday happens Friday I am signing up all on my own. I really want to beat my time from last year. I am loosely planning to start training soon I am hoping by the end of this week/starting next week I can get started on it! I now have a better idea of how to approach it!

That’s it for now. I am hoping to be back with posts soon. Just keep me in your thoughts!

Mags

 

 

Leave a Reply

